Star Trek: Deep Space Nine (1993-1999)

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine was the third spin off series for the Star Trek Franchise, and ran for 7 seasons from 1993 to 1999. Like TNG, DS9 took place in the 24th century. Instead of being on a ship like the other 3 series, DS9 is a space station, and in a way turns out to be one of the darker aspects of a show franchise that till then had been mostly positive of the future.

It also turned out to be LGBT+ friendly then its predecessors, with more gender freedom, and a bisexual being in Jadzia Dax. It also tackled aspects such as disability and autism-like disorders in the future (via Julian Bashir). Oddly it was the first series to show a Captain who had a family along side a career. It also showed a lot about Klingon culture as well as Bajoran (perhaps the first religion friendly aspect).

It also caused some confusion when Dax basically retconned anything we knew about Trill beings prior to DS9.

Main Cast

Captain Benjamin Sisko – Avery Brooks
Commander Kira Nerys – Nana Visitor
Lt. Jadzia Dax – Terry Farrell
Lt. Julian Bashir, MD – Siddig El Fedel/ Alexander Siddig
Chief Petty Officer Miles O’Brien – Colm Meany
Security Chief Odo – Rene Auberjonois
Quark, a resident/business owner – Armin Shimerman
Jake Sisko – Cirroc Lofton

Season One

Star Trek Home

<– The Next Generation | Voyager –>