The Original Series: Films (1978-1991)

Star Trek gained massive popularity after it left the air, and Paramount was convinced that they needed to bring some more content to our screens. This started with the Animated series, and in the mid 70s they started to develop a plan for a live action sequel series. Unfortunately, it did not pan out, but fortunately it brought them back to the original crew and over the next 13 years, we were given 6 more adventures with Captain Kirk and his crew.

The Motion Picture brought elements of the dropped sequel series, elements that were also used to inspire the 1987 sequel series The Next Generation. The Wrath of Khan is still widely seen as one of the best of the Trek films, and the Voyage Home is a fan favorite, often known as “The one with the whales”. The fact that Films 2,4, and 6 were more popular then their counterparts has led to the belief that only even numbered trek films are good. At least for the first 9.

TOS era stories aired between 1966-1994, covering almost 30 years, 6 films and 101 episodes (not including the apperances in sequel series such as TOS and Voyager)

Star Trek: The Motion Picture (TMP) -1978

Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan – 1982

Star Trek: The Search for Spock – 1984

Star Trek: The Voyage Home -1986

Star Trek: The Final Frontier -1989

Star Trek: The Undiscovered Country – 1991

Star Trek Home

<– The Original Series (1966-1969)| The Next Generation (1987-1994) –>